The war is over. The enemy won.

 

Jia's people learned the hard way that there are no second chances. The Egril, their ancient enemy, struck with magic so devastating that Jia's armies were wiped out. Now terror reigns in the streets, and friend turns on friend just to live another day.

 

Somehow Tinnstra - a deserter, a failure, nothing but a coward - survived. She wants no more than to hide from the chaos.

 

But dragged into a desperate plot to retake Jia, surrounded by people willing to do anything to win the fight, this time Tinnstra will need to do more than hide.

 

If Jia is to get a second chance after all, this time she will need to be a hero.

 

With all the grit of Joe Abercrombie, Mark Lawrence and Ed McDonald, this is fantasy with the sharpest of edges.


The first book in The Last War series: a debut epic fantasy full of crunching revolutionary action, twisted magic, and hard choices in dark times.


'The next Game of Thrones' Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

 

'Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell' Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones.

 

"We Are the Dead is a captivating, heartrending bout of epic fantasy greatness. Shackle has written one of the best debuts I have ever read and it is perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie, John Gwynne, and Ed McDonald. If you enjoy fantasy with grimdark elements, redeemable characters, distorted magic, and explosive action, this is an ideal starting point." - FanFiAddict

We Are The Dead (Mike Shackle)

£16.99Price
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co 
    ISBN: 9781473225213 
    Number of pages: 496 
    Weight: 600 g 
    Dimensions: 234 x 154 x 48 mm

     

    Trade Paperback