Where there is light, there must always be shadow... The fifth volume in Janny Wurts's spectacular epic fantasy, now re-released with a striking new cover design along with the rest of the series.


The wars began when two half-brothers, gifted of light and shadow, stood shoulder to shoulder to defeat the Mistwraith. Their foe cast a lifelong curse of enmity between them that has so far woven three bitter conflicts and uncounted deadly intrigues.


It is a time of political upheavel, fanaticism and rampaging armies. Distrust of sorcery has set off a purge of the talented mageborn - none reviled more than Arithon, Master of Shadow. Through clever manipulation of events at the hands of his half-brother Lysaer, Lord of Light, Arithon's very name has become anathema. Now the volatile hatreds that spearheaded the campaign against Shadow have overtaken all reason.


Those that still stand in Arithon's desperate defence are downtrodden, in retreat and close to annihilation. The stage is set for the ultimate betrayal.




Grand Conspiracy (Janny Wurts)

  • Fugitive Prince

    Grand Conspiracy

    Peril’s Gate

    Traitors Knot 

    Stormed Fortress

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers 

    ISBN: 9780007102228 

    Number of pages: 656 

    Weight: 350 g 

    Dimensions: 178 x 111 x 39 mm